The Oyo state government has shut down Obasanjo Farms and 15 other businesses for failing to pay the state’s environmental development levy.

The action was carried out by the Board of Internal Revenue’s inter-ministerial enforcement unit.

Other companies affected were Black Horse, Heinemann Educational Books, Lister Flour Mills, Evans Brother, Butterfield bakery, Chicken Republic, MRS oil and Rahsmed Publicity.

Bicci Alli, chairman of the board, told journalists that the order became necessary after the failure of the companies to comply with the state despite being served reminders on several occasions.

“We went to restrain some corporate organisations that failed to pay what is due to the Oyo state government after giving due notices, demand notices and even public notices to that effect and they failed to pay,” he said.

“It was as a result of their failure to pay that we now embarked on the needful.

“So we went to those places to stop them from having access to their premises until they comply with the directive and do the right thing.”

On Monday, the state government shut down 13 banks in Dugbe, Mokola, Idi-Ape, Agodi Gate, Secretariat Road, Challenge, Jericho, Bodija and UI.

Some of the affected banks were Diamond Bank, Stanbic IBTC, Skye Bank, First City Monument Bank, Heritage Bank, First Bank, Ecobank, Unity Bank, UBA, Keystone Bank and Union Bank.