An Oil Rig

Niger Delta ex-Militants have made a request to the Nigerian Government urging President Muhammadu Buhari to redistribute all expired oil block licenses situated in the Nigerian maritime waters among the 36 states of the Federation of Nigeria instead of giving it out to influential individuals and companies.

The Ex-Militants under the auspices of the ”Coalition of Niger Delta Agitators” made the call in a letter to President Buhari insisting that sharing of the oil blocks among the 36 states of the federation was the panacea for peace and progress in Nigeria.

The letter signed by a self-styled General John Duku for the Coalition of Niger Delta Agitators, General Ekpo Ekpo for the Niger Delta Volunteers, General Osarolor Nedam for the Niger Delta Warriors among others was copied to the Minister of State for Petroleum Ibe Kachikwu, the Group Managing Director of the NNPC Kanti Baru among others.

A comprehensive list of expired licenses and their owners were listed for emphasis and expected action from the Nigerian Government. They include Conoil Producing Limited – OML 103, OPL 297 and OPL 257; Africoil & Marketing Company Limited OPL 204 and OPL 236;

Oando Plc and Nigeria Agip Exploration OPL 244 and OPL 278; Oranto Petroleum Limited – OPL 320; Express Petroleum & Gas Company Limited and Atlas Petroleum Nigeria Limited – OML 108 and OML 109; Express Petroleum & Gas Company/Petroleum Prospects International Limited OPL 227;

Cleanwaters Consortium and Seven Waves Limited OPL 289 and Total Exploration & Production Nigeria and Chevron Nigeria Ltd – OPL 221.

Oil Workers in an Oil Rig

Others were Moni Pulo Limited – OPL 234, OPL 239 and OPL 231; Summit Oil International Limited – OPL 206; Tenoil Petroleum & Energy Services Limited – OPL 2008; Sahara Energy E&P Limited and BG Exploration Nigeria Limited – OPL 286 and OPL 284;

The list continued with Starcrest Nigeria Limited – OPL 291; Emo E&P Nigeria Ltd and Total E&P Nigeria Limited – OPLs 285 and 279; Newcross Petroleum Limited and Rayflosh Petroleum Ltd – OPL 283; Amalgamated Oil Company Limited and Cavendish Petroleum Nigeria Limited – OPL 452 and OML 110; Mobil Producing Nigeria Unlimited and AMNI International Petroleum Limited – OML 104 and OML 112;

Esso E&P Limited – OPL 226 and OPL 223; Nigeria Development Company Limited – OPL 722, OPL 733, OPL 809 and OPL 810; Nigeria Development United Limited – OPL 233; Orient Petroleum Refinery Limited – OPLs 915 and OPL 916; Afren Global Energy Resources Limited – OPL 907.

Locational Map of Oil Blocks in Nigeria

Also listed are Crownwell and Platinum Natural Resources – OPL 305 and OPL 306; China National Offshore Oil Corporation – OPL 471; Gas Transmission & Power Limited – OPL 905; GEC Petroleum Development Company Limited – OPL 2010; Newcross and Albright Waves Petroleum Development – OPL 276.

Making bold their demand, the agitators insisted that there must be equity, fairness, and justice in the distribution of the available oil blocks in Nigeria

“We, therefore, demand that OPL and OML of all the companies mentioned above and others yet to mention be withdrawn and the renewing processes/procedures should be stopped with immediate effect for the interest of peace in the Niger Delta and Nigerian at large”. The agitators declared